As an instance administrator, you might wish to conceal certain sections of a point cloud. The Point Cloud Cleanup tool is primarily utilized to eliminate portions of a point cloud, such as spray points or other unwanted noise that you prefer not to show.
Note: If Automatic activation is on, opening Point Cloud Cleanup makes all datasets within the bounding box visible, even if you previously hid them. To preserve dataset visibility, turn off Automatic activation before opening the tool: go to View Settings, turn on Point cloud, then turn off Automatic activation.
Point cloud spray points
Shown below are spray points
Where is the Point Cloud cleanup tool?
Go to Edit Site.
.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-08-24T05%3A23%3A08Z&se=2026-08-24T05%3A38%3A08Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=Xrka9qE4WYtX8rl%2FlwWbx28Id94nFf5%2FWrXq%2FkCWSQ0%3D)
Go to Point Cloud Cleanup.

How do I navigate within the Point Cloud cleanup tool?
To help you with orientation and navigation within the point cloud there are the following functions:
Navigation buttons.
Orthographic projection view.
Keyboard shortcuts.
Navigation buttons
Use the navigation buttons to orient yourself around the point cloud.

If you click the Top button, the view will change to show the point cloud from above. This is useful for finding spray points which can then be hidden using the Point cloud cleanup tool.

If you click Front button, the view changes to show the point cloud from the front, in the example shown here we can see more spray points.

Orthographic projection view
Navigating around the point cloud in orthographic projection is a good way to orient yourself in large point clouds, it gives a realistic view of the surroundings, and when used with the keyboard shortcuts can be an effective method of navigation.
To turn On and Off the orthographic projection view click the Scene Settings icon.
Use the toggle switch to turn on or off Orthographic projection view.

Keyboard shortcuts
Use keyboard shortcuts for orientation and navigation within the point cloud. To view the short cuts while in the Point Cloud cleanup tool, press the ? key on your keyboard the following screen is displayed showing the shortcuts.

Cropping Spray Points
Use Point Cloud Cleanup to remove spray points from a site.
1. Using the navigation tools in Point Cloud Cleanup go to the spray points.
Click Add selection tool.
Use the tool to select the area you want to hide. The area is highlighted once it is selected.
Click Hide selection button.
The area is hidden from view (but can still be retrieved later).
Click Save.
The Point Cloud Cleanup tool offers these options:
Add selection: Click around the area you want to select for hiding.
Remove from selection: While selecting the area to hide, you can delete points from the selection.
Invert selection: After selecting the area, switch the selection to everything outside it.
Cancel selection: Cancel the point cloud cleanup process.
Hide selection: After defining the area to hide, click the Hide selection button to hide it.
Undo: After hiding the area, click Undo to unhide it.
The Cropping View Box
Using the Crop View is a good way to isolate specific areas for a much more accurate cleanup.
Click the Crop View box tool icon.

The cropping box is displayed. You can then move, extend or rotate the cropping box once it is placed at the desired location.

Using the mouse, drag the coloured circles to define the cropping box.
To orientate the cropping box, drag points on the cross to the desired orientation.
Using the Point cloud cleanup tool you can then hide the whole defined area or sections within that area.
Invert selection
The Invert selection button enables you to select an area in the point cloud and then clean everything outside the selected box.
Click the Add selection button and select the area that you want to keep and NOT clean.
Click the Invert selection button and everything outside the area you have selected will then be selected.
Click the Hide Selected button to remove everything selected.
How to revert back or save datasets
The data sets that you are currently working on are marked as Edited.

At this point you can click Undo and the point cloud will revert back to the last action performed.
To confirm the changes you have made using the Point cloud cleanup tool click Save.

Click Publish in the top bar.
Note:
The point cloud cleanup is saved and implemented only after the draft is published.
Before you publish, the cleanup is stored temporarily and will be discarded if the dataset/bundle is unloaded.
Recommendation: Publish the draft immediately after applying the point cloud cleanup to ensure changes are preserved and available on the instance.
Removing the cleanup edits
If after you have clicked on the Save button, you want to revert back to how it was before:
Place the mouse over the Building and click the Trash button.
All your changes will be reverted back to the last action performed.
If you want to revert back on a data set, click the Trash button on the respective data set.

Click Remove.

Note:
If there are any panoramas in the area you have cleaned up, this will reduce the panorama count in the dataset.
Any cleanup action can also be undone to restore the panoramas.
If the dataset is of an older generation, you might see a incompatible error message displayed. This error message will be cleared within 24 hours and the dataset can be saved successfully.
FAQ
What is the Point Cloud Cleanup tool used for?
The Point Cloud Cleanup tool is used to eliminate portions of a point cloud, such as spray points or other unwanted noise that you prefer not to show.
Where can I find the Point Cloud Cleanup tool?
You can find the Point Cloud Cleanup tool by going to Site Setup and then selecting Point Cloud Cleanup.
How can I navigate within the Point Cloud Cleanup tool?
You can navigate using navigation buttons, orthographic projection view, and keyboard shortcuts.
What is the purpose of the Cropping View Box?
The Cropping View Box is used to isolate specific areas for a more precise cleanup of the point cloud.
Can I revert changes made in the Point Cloud Cleanup tool?
Yes, you can revert changes by clicking Undo or by using the Trash button to remove edits.
Why does Automatic activation make hidden datasets visible when I open Point Cloud Cleanup?
This is expected behavior when Automatic activation is on. Opening Point Cloud Cleanup makes all datasets within the bounding box visible automatically. To preserve dataset visibility, turn off Automatic activation: go to View Settings, turn on Point cloud, then turn off Automatic activation. As of version 11.11.3, NavVis IVION remembers this setting between sessions.
Will the Crop and Download export the after-clean-up data?
Yes.