NavVis
Managing Users
  • 18 Mar 2024
  • 2 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light

Managing Users

  • Dark
    Light

Article Summary

This section describes how to create and manage local user accounts.

Management of users is at the instance level. Only global admins can create new users, add them to Sites, and delete existing users. Site admins can edit existing users assigned to their site(s).

Users Tab

You can find the Users tab under User Management > Users on your instance dashboard.

In the Users tab you can:

  • See a list of the users of that instance.

  • See which site(s) users have access to.

  • See which user group a user is part of for a specific site.

  • Filter for users of a specific site.

  • Search for users.

  • See when a user was last active.

  • Add new users.

  • Edit users.

  • Delete users.

Adding Users

Procedure

  1. Go to User Management > Users.

  2. Click Add new user.

  3. Enter a username.

  4. Optionally, enter the first and last name of the user and their email address.

  5. Assign the user to a site by opening the Site drop-down menu and selecting a site.

    Note: Users can only view the site(s) they have been assigned to.

  6. If you want to give the user access to more than one site, click the + button under Site and select another site from the drop-down menu.

  7. Assign the user to a group by opening the Group drop-down menu and selecting a group.

    Note: Group membership determines the permissions a user has in NavVis IVION.

  8. If you have assigned the user to more than one site, you need to specify a group for each site.

  9. If you want to make the user a global admin, use the toggle button Make user global admin. This way you do not have to assign the user to each site individually.

  10. Enter and confirm a password.

  11. If you want the user to change their password after the first login, use the toggle button Require password change by the user.

  12. Click Add new user.

Defining Permissions for Multiple Users

Procedure

  1. Go to User Management > Users.

  2. Select the users for which you want to define permissions.

  3. Click Define Permissions.

  4. In the dialog that opens, assign the users to a site by opening the Site drop-down menu and selecting a site.

  5. If you want to define permissions for more than one site, click the + button under Site and select another site from the drop-down menu.

  6. Assign the users to a group by opening the Group drop-down menu and selecting a group. If you have assigned the users to more than one site, you need to specify a group for each site.

  7. If you want to make the users global admins, use the toggle button Make user global admin.

  8. Click Define Permissions.

Editing Users

Procedure

  1. Go to User Management > Users.

  2. Place your cursor over the name of the user you want to edit.

  3. Click the pencil button that appears.

  4. In the dialog that opens, make the necessary changes.

  5. Click Save changes.

Deleting Users

Procedure

  1. Go to User Management > Users.

  2. Select the user(s) you want to delete.

  3. Click the bin button in the top right corner of your screen.

  4. Confirm by clicking Delete.


Was this article helpful?

Changing your password will log you out immediately. Use the new password to log back in.
First name must have atleast 2 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Last name must have atleast 1 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Enter a valid email
Enter a valid password
Your profile has been successfully updated.