NavVis
Managing User Groups
  • 18 Mar 2024
  • 2 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light

Managing User Groups

  • Dark
    Light

Article Summary

This section describes the permissions model and how to manage user groups.

The management of user groups in occurs on the instance level. Global admins can add, edit, and delete user groups for all Sites in a NavVis IVION Instance. Site admins can add, edit, and delete user groups for their site(s) only.

Groups Tab

You can find the Groups tab under User Management > Groups on your instance dashboard.

In the Groups tab you can:

  • See a list of user groups for each site in the instance.

  • Add new user groups.

  • Edit existing user groups.

  • Delete user groups.

Adding User Groups

Procedure

  1. Go to User Management > Groups.

  2. From the drop-down menu, select the site for which you want to add a group.

  3. Select an existing user group by clicking on its name. The new group will be added as a sub-group of the group you have selected.

  4. Click the + button.

  5. Enter a name for the group.

  6. Confirm by clicking the check mark button.

  7. Click Save.

  8. To assign permission to the group:

    1. Expand the group's drop-down menu on the right side of your screen.

    2. Check the check boxes next to the permissions you want to apply to the group.

  9. Click Save.

Editing User Groups

Procedure

  1. Go to User Management > Groups.

  2. From the drop-down menu, select the site for which you want to edit a user group.

  3. To edit the name of a group:

    1. Select the group by clicking on its name.

    2. Click the pencil button.

    3. Change the group name.

    4. Click the check mark button.

    5. Click Save.

  4. To edit the permissions of a group:

    1. Open the group's drop-down menu on the right side of your screen.

    2. Add permissions for the group by checking additional check boxes.

    3. Remove permissions from the group by unchecking check boxes.

    4. Click Save.

Setting the lowest user group for a Site

This procedure describes how to set the lowest user group that can view a site.

Procedure

  1. Go to Edit Site.

  2. Switch off the toggle for Make site visible for everyone.

  3. A new field is displayed: Select the lowest user group that can view this site.

  4. Click inside the field and select the lowest user group that you want to be able to view this specific site.

  5. Click Next.

  6. Click Save.

Deleting User Groups

Procedure

Warning: Deleting a user group will also delete all its sub-groups.

  1. Go to User Management > Groups.

  2. From the drop-down menu, select the site for which you want to delete a group.

  3. Select the group you want to delete by clicking on its name.

  4. Click the bin button.

  5. Confirm by clicking Save.


Was this article helpful?

Changing your password will log you out immediately. Use the new password to log back in.
First name must have atleast 2 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Last name must have atleast 1 characters. Numbers and special characters are not allowed.
Enter a valid email
Enter a valid password
Your profile has been successfully updated.